The Three Treasures, The Three Tenets, The Ten Practices, The Four Commitments and The Bodhisattva Vow serve as the foundation for the Zen Peacemaker work and practice. One may pursue their study with a teacher and/preceptor.


Three Treasures of a Zen Peacemaker

Recognizing my place in the Circle of Life, I take refuge in:


Three Tenets of a Zen Peacemaker

Taking refuge in The Three Treasures, I vow to live a life of:


Ten Precepts of a Zen Peacemaker

Embodying The Three Tenets, I practice these Precepts:

  1. Recognizing that I am not separate from all that is. This is the precept of Non-Killing.
  2. Being satisfied with what I have. This is the precept of Non-Stealing.
  3. Meeting the diversity of life with respect and dignity. This is the precept of Chaste Conduct.
  4. Listening and speaking from the heart. This is the precept of Non-Lying.
  5. Cultivating a mind that sees clearly. This is the precept of Not Being Ignorant.
  6. Bearing witness to the offering of each moment. This is the precept of Not Talking About Others’ Errors And Faults.
  7. Speaking what I perceive to be the truth. This is the precept of Not Elevating Myself And Blaming Others.
  8. Using all the ingredients of my life. This is the precept of Not Being Stingy.
  9. Bearing witness to emotions that arise. This is the precept of Not Holding On To Anger.
  10. Honoring my life as a Peacemaker. This is the precept of Not Disparaging The Three Treasures.


Four Commitments of a Zen Peacemaker

Living The Ten Precepts I commit to:

  1. A reverence for all  life;
  2. A sustainable and ethical economy;
  3. Equal rights for all;
  4. Stewardship of the Earth.


The Bodhisattva Vows

Numberless beings, I vow to serve them.

Inexhaustible delusions, I vow to end them.

Boundless Dharmas, I vow to practice them.

Unsurpassable Buddha Way, I vow to embody it.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.